NETFLIX SHOW REVIEW: GIRLBOSS

Well guys, you know me. I have a Netflix addiction and I can never watch “just one” episode of a show, To binge or not to binge, that is always the question. The answer is always to binge watch! It is just not in me to go slow. I am an or or nothing kinda girl haha. 

(WARNING: strong language used in the trailer)

As always, when this show came up on my recommended list as a new show I was very much on the fence about spending my time watching it. I don’t know why it is but even if a show is totally awful I still end up watching it until the end (mostly) just because I have that voice in my head saying “it has to get better”. I read a few reviews, which were very hit and miss. Again I have no idea why i spend my time reading the reviews because I never pay attention to them. I feel like I just like to see how other people write reviews. There is always a mix of styles and I feel like they are just fun to read. 

Anyway, back to Girlboss. I will start off by saying that  this is an adult show, however if you are not a fan of curse words this will not be your cup of tea. Personally, I don’t mind them as long as they are not over-used and I feel like Girlboss is just about okay on that front for me. 

Girlboss is loosely based on the autobiography of Sophia Amoruso, who coined the term Girlboss. It follows the ups and downs of a 23 year old called Sophia Marlowe(Britt Robertson), who is a bit lost.She starts of work in a shop, however she has the kind of attitude you would hate from an employee. She is rude, lazy, does what the hell she wants, including eating her boss’s lunch, turning up late and ignoring customers. It comes as no surprise that she gets fired from her job and she has to asses what she wants to do next. She buys a vintage leather jacket from a thrift shop for $9 and sells it for $600 and comes up with the idea to open an Ebay store and sell vintage clothes online. 

Sophia’s best friend Annie (Ellie Reed) seems to be the only person she is close to as her mother left when she was younger and she has a strained relationship with her father. Throughout the first season she has a love interest called Shane(Johnny Simmons), who lives with Dax (Alphonso McAuley) , who also happens to be Annie’s boyfriend.

Now if you are looking for likeable heroine, who goes from rags to riches in a typical cliché style then this is not the show for you, however if you are looking for a kick ass main character with substance, attitude and someone you love to hate, hate to love and secretly route for then this is a show you do not want to miss. 

This ain’t no sugar coated fairytale and I love it. It is a raw, laugh out loud funny, gut wrenchingly sad, hit your head against a wall frustrating, emotional roller coaster of a show in just 13 episodes and I would sit and binge watch it all over again.

Robertson plays the role so well. It fits her like a glove and the chemistry between all the main characters seems real. I have never seen somebody play a character that you want to slap but also route for her to succeed at the same time.  I don’t want to give too much away so I will leave it there but if you are looking for something a bit different then I recommend Girlboss.

This is a one of a kind show that I can honestly say I love so Girlboss gets a 5 out of from from this Misfit.

happytvhappytvhappytvhappytvhappytv

the-end

I would love to hear your guys’ thoughts in the show if you have watched it. 

Let me know if you have any shows, films, etc that you would recommend. Just leave them in the comments below I am up for any suggestions.

Thank you to all of you who read my reviews and my blog and I will see ya’ll again soon.

As always, remember, Be Kind, Be Happy and Stay True to You!

x

heart

Leave a Reply

