Lets Talk: Stand Up For Girls

Hey Hey my lovelies and welcome back to another collab.

When I saw that The Children’s Society was looking for bloggers to share a post about this I could not wait to be involved. This is a subject that is so important to me and I think if we have a platform that we can use to help raise awareness of important issues then we should use it.

**Disclaimer: This is not a sponsored post. I will be sharing some personal experiences and some facts that could potentially be a trigger for some people so please bare this in mind before continuing as I want to share my message but I do not want to cause anybody any distress**

The Children’s Society’s Good Childhood Report 2016 uncovered some quite disturbing findings regarding how the feelings about appearance are affecting girl’s happiness. The report shows that whilst the happiness of boys remains the same the happiness of girls is decreasing.

Now I just want to put it out there that this is not saying that I feel girls have it harder than boys or anything because I have seen and read things in the past few years especially that has made my blood boil and brought a tear to my eye but this post is just about the most recent report that has been released.

The focus on appearance is not a new things!. It is something that has been going on for years and although this is no excuse to make others feel bad about themselves, if you grow up with that being more important than personality traits it is bound to affect you in one way or another. Trying to live up to what girls believe society expect does make you feel insecure. 1 in 7 girls  are unhappy with their lives overall based on the current report. 

my-story

I have already shared a bit about my past and how it has affected me and I know that I am not the only person that has been through things like that but that does not make it okay. I didn’t get support from my teachers so I had to stand up for myself, and I made the mistake of not opening up to the people close to me that could have helped.  

I was bullied a lot growing up, around my estate , in primary school but more so in secondary school for no reason other than one person in a group took a disliking to me or made a joke and it stuck. The thing is I was never overweight in school but I wasn’t typical pretty girl. I was loud, had frizzy hair and was very opinionated. I wasn’t sporty and I didn’t feel like I fit in anywhere.  

No matter how different you are this does not give anyone the right to make you feel inferior. I went from loving school and being such a book worm to dreading going to school, harming myself and  hating the way I looked. Nobody should ever be made to feel like that. I have struggled with anxiety and depression for a long time and if I had any advice for any girl out there who is being bullied and feels helpless it would be to speak up. I know that you may feel that you don’t want to be a burden to the ones you love but you’re not. Talking really does help and when people know about what is going on they can try to help resolve the situation before it gets out of hand.

When I was younger the internet was around but social media was not used as much as it is now so it was harder for bullies to get to me outside of school or when I was inside my house. Now, social media is everywhere and a part of everyday life and it is easier to get to someone.  It is never okay to for someone to write nasty things about you or for people to gang up on you and being young is no excuse. 

PCR090_Social12

I really do believe if we had more open and frank talks in school about bullying and the long term impact that can have on people I would have had a very different experience in school. It is important that we take charge and encourage open dialog between the victims and the people that can help.  Encouraging victims and showing them that it is not okay, they do not deserve it. On the back of that though I feel there needs to be things set up in schools that ensures all complaints are followed through on. My teachers disregarded my complaints even though it was a Church of England school that had a “zero Tolerance” policy.  Educating adults as well as young people is Key!

Unfortunately I have heard far too often that young girls have self- harmed or committed suicide as result of being bullied, either in school, online or both and this scares me! I was so lucky that I had my family but I still have scars that remind me every day of when I was at my lowest and it is a struggle. If having services available can prevent even just one girl from going through what I have been through that would make a huge difference.

summary1

There are a lot of good things to be said for social media but in some cases it can be toxic. The Children’s Society recently found that one in seven young girls says they’re unhappy with their lives. That’s why we need to make sure that any young person experiencing emotional distress has somewhere to turn. Join me and The Children’s Society in asking the Government to provide mental health support in all schools. Share this message with friends and make social media work for teenagers!

Some quotes from young girls that took part in the study:

PCR090_Social10

One teenage girl said: “There are so many things that are difficult about being a young person. There are so many pressures from your friends, from your family. You don’t know who you are going to be, you are trying to find who you are in a certain way.”

Another said: “Girls feel pressured by the boys that they should look a particular way and that leads girls into depression or low self-esteem and makes girls feel ugly or worthless.”

 

“There is a lot of pressure to look good, you get called names no matter what, people always say stuff behind your back, boys always call you ugly if you have spots, or a slag if you wear makeup.”

Nobody should be made to feel like this. It is definitely not okay and having services available, I think, will make a huge difference.

If you would like to find out more information about this topic you can click the link below: www.childrenssociety.org.uk/the-good-childhood-report

You can follow the Children’s Society on social Media:

Twitter: @childrensociety                  

Facebook:   /childrenssociety                              

Instagram@TheChildrensSociety

the-end

Now more than ever I think that my moto rings true :

Be Kind , Be Happy and Stay True to You!

x

heart

3 thoughts on “Lets Talk: Stand Up For Girls

Leave a Reply

