BOOK TOUR and Q&A:Sometimes I Lie

 Hello guys and gals welcome to my latest Book Blog Tour!!

Alice Feeney is releasing an amazing new novel called Sometimes I Lie. 

I love finding new authors and books and I hope you enjoy finding out more about the author of this amazing new release.

Blog tour

Hi Alice

Thank you so much for doing this Interview with me. I am looking forward to reading your book and doing the Tour. The best thing about these kinds of interviews is getting to know the author. So the first few questions are just “getting to know you?”

  1. Where were you born?

Essex

  1. How many siblings do you have?

I’m an only child.

  1. Did you go to college/University?

Yes, it was fun!

  1. Where do you live now?

I live in a tiny Victorian house full of books in the Surrey countryside.

  1. Do you have any children?

No, just the dog! He is a black Labrador and his name is Diggi. He sits in the shed with me while I write and tells me when to take a break.

  1. What is your biggest fear?

My agent not liking my next book. I’m also terrified of people touching my eyes, so going to the opticians is always a little problematic, and feet – I really don’t like feet.

  1. What do you feel are your biggest accomplishments so far in your career and in your life?

This moment, right now! Sometimes I Lie will be published in the UK next week and in lots of different countries and languages around the world over the next 12 months. It’s all I’ve wanted for such a very long time and I could not be happier – I feel very grateful to everyone who has helped make this dream come true and very lucky indeed!

Now on to the bookish questions..

  1. What age did you start to write?

I wrote a book when I was six. It wasn’t very long, but I thought it was wonderful. It was written on pink paper and I think my Dad still has it.

  1. When did you know you wanted to be an author?

My parents would tell you that I’ve been telling stories since I was old enough to speak, so I think it’s probably been on the cards for a very long time.

  1. What urged you to pursue writing as a career?

I’ve been writing forever in one way or another. But when I turned 30, I decided I wanted to write a novel. It took me seven years to write one that someone wanted to publish, but it’s been worth all the rejection letters and hours spent writing in the shed – this is all I’ve ever wanted and I feel so incredibly lucky that my dreams are (finally) coming true!

  1. Did you do any research about what genre was popular before you started writing?

No, and I don’t recommend it. You have to write you want to write, you can’t worry about what’s popular. I always think it is best to try and write something that you would genuinely want to read.

  1. What is your favourite Genre to read?

Anything dark and twisty.

  1. What is your favourite Genre to write?

Anything dark and twisty.

  1. The age old question…do you ever get writers block? If so how do you overcome it?

Not really no, I think I’m very lucky like that – I literally love writing. Even when you have a bad day or the words aren’t quite right, you’re still getting to know your characters better. So, in my very humble opinion, no words are wasted, even if you end up deleting them all on the next draft.

There was one moment when I did have a tiny wobble with Sometimes I Lie. I wouldn’t describe it as writer’s block, I’d been sent some brilliant notes and I think I just didn’t know where to start! I looked outside and a bird that had been sitting in a tree flew right into the window. I ended up writing a scene about it. I learned two things that day:

  1. When horrible things happen, put them in your writing.
  2. Take your time, don’t fly too fast into things – it can kill you.
  1. What inspires you to write? Do you have to take notes?

Everything and everyone. You just have to open your eyes and ears to the world around you – there are stories everywhere if you know how to look and listen.

  1. I always ask this of authors and I am quite surprised at the response I get .. I am not a writer but when I get an idea of something to write (or draw) I have to do it there and then even if it is just a draft ( do i sound crazy?) Do you ever feel like that?

All the time! I drive my poor husband bonkers, scribbling things down in the middle of the night – I can’t help it though, I’m sure that’s when I have some of my best ideas!

  1. What is next for Alice Feeney??

Well, I’m incredibly lucky in that Sometimes I Lie is being published in lots of different countries, which involves a bit of travel and seeing all the different book covers – which is just so exciting! My first draft of my next book is complete and once I’ve finished editing I’ll be handing that in to my agent in June. I’m super excited that my next novel will be published in the UK by HarperCollins this time next year! 

Thank you for the very interesting questions! I hope that you and your readers enjoy Sometimes I Lie!

Alice

xx

the-end

Be Kind, Be Happy and Stay True to You!

x

heart

 

 

Leave a Reply

