AUTHOR INTERVIEW: Janine Ashbless

JANINE ASHBLESS INTERVIEW

If you are a regular reader you will know that I love me a good book. When I came across In Bonds of The Earth I couldn’t wait to be involved in the Blog Tour and to be able to do an interview with the author was just an honour.  I will eventually change up the format of my interviews going forward but here is my interview with the very interesting Janine Ashbless.

inbonds2

Hi Janine

Thank you so much for doing this Interview with me. I am looking forward to reading your book and doing the Tour.

  1. The best thing about these kinds of interviews is getting to know the author. So the first few questions are just “getting to know you?”

It’s great to be here – fire away!

  1. Where were you born?

I was born in – wait for it – a town called Mold in Wales, UK.  Sounds hygienic, doesn’t it? My parents are English btw, so I don’t know if I count as Welsh or not.

  1. How many siblings do you have?

I have a younger brother and sister. I’m the bossy oldest one, lol.

  1. Did you go to college/University?

Yes, I have a degree in Philosophy. Later I also went to agricultural college and earned a National Diploma in Forestry. Weird combination, I know!

  1. Where do you live now?

I live in North Yorkshire, England. It’s a great place!

  1. Do you have any children?

No. I never wanted children.

  1. If so how old. If you don’t mind sharing their names and ages that would be lovely. I understand if you don’t

n/a

  1. What is your biggest fear?

I’m scared something awful will happen to my dogs – like them falling out of the car onto the highway – and I won’t be able to stop it.

  1. What do you feel are your biggest accomplishments so far in your career and in your life?

I’ve had three collections of short stories and eight novels published in paperback, as well as lots of shorts. I’ve had a story picked for one of the Ellen Datlow’s Best Horror of the Year collections.

In my life? I’ve fulfilled my dream and bought a small wood! I’ve brushed off my chainsaw skills and I am loving working out there on odd days.

Now on to the bookish questions..

  1. What age did you start to write?

Twenty-one. I got my first job after Uni and fell in with new friends who were keen story-writers and would read them out to each other, so I started with a ghostly Hallowe’en tale.

  1. When did you know you wanted to be an author?

When I was a child.

  1. What urged you to pursue writing as a career?

I went through a period of serious depression when I was in my twenties, quit my computing job and went back to college, but writing was the only available career path that didn’t make me miserable.

  1. Did you do any research about what genre was popular before you started writing?

No, I wrote what was seething about in my head – which was supernatural erotica.

  1. What is your favourite Genre to read?

Actually, I mostly read non-fiction travel books and history. I love ghost stories though!

  1. What is your favourite Genre to write?

Erotica. I do like writing an emotional dimension to my erotica, but romance without sex is like eggs without salt 😉

  1. The age old question…do you ever get writers block? If so how do you overcome it?

Not real block, but I can get stuck on the logistics of a scene or how the dialogue should go. So I jump in the shower! The scenes come to me as I stand beneath the water J

  1. What inspires you to write? Do you have to take notes?

Places inspire me – places with historical interest or old stories and legends attached to them. I have a visual imagination so setting so incredibly important to me.

  1. I always ask this of authors and I am quite surprised at the response I get .. I am not a writer but when I get an idea of something to write.. or draw I have to do it there and then even if it is just a draft ( do I sound crazy?) Do you ever feel like that?

I get what you mean, but I cruelly keep my scenes seething away inside my head, working them out mentally until I’m ready to write them down.

  1. Finally… What is next for Janine Ashbless??

I’m writing The Prison of the Angels, which is the sequel to In Bonds of the Earth and the final part of The Book of the Watchers trilogy. And then I have an anthology to edit later in the year.

Thanks so much for having me on your blog!

xxx

Janine

 

This is just a teaser for the blog tour coming on 17th March. Keep your eyes peeled for my post on Friday that will have an excerpt of the amazing book In Bonds of The Earth as well as my review 🙂  EXCITING TIMES!

the-end

x

heart

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “AUTHOR INTERVIEW: Janine Ashbless

  1. Pingback: MARCH WRAP UP: Why I have not been as active this month | Creative Misfit

Leave a Reply

