BOOK REVIEW: A Chance at Forever

Title: A Chance at Forever

Author: K. B. Andrews

Series Status: Book One in the Chance Series

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Number of Pages:  218 Pages

spoilerfree-reviews

**Disclaimer – I was given this book by Quill and Ink Book Tours in exchange for an honest review**

chance-at-forever

The Story.png

Mason knew where his life was going, until it was all taken away from him. Left with bitterness and resentment, he forces himself to live the life he never wanted.
Lennox came blowing into town looking for a new start. She had big dreams and would do anything to make them come true.
Lennox was just what Mason didn’t know he needed.
But what happens when Lennox is offered her dream?
Will Mason let his life walk away from him a second time, or will he fight to keep her?

**Side Note ***This story does contain mature themes, strong language, underage drinking, and sexual situations. It is intended for mature adults.

my-thoughts1

I have always been a sucker for a cheesy love story.. Give me a Rom Com over a horror film any day. As I read more and more I am realising I don’t feel the same way about romance in books as I do in films.

I have started to read a few books recently and I just couldn’t finish them. I thought they would be books I would like but I really struggled to enjoy them and get through them. I think for me when it comes to books Fantasy and thrillers are more my thing.

I did, however enjoy this book. It is a sweet love story told from the main characters points of view, which I think is genius. I do enjoy reading from the characters POV as I do think it gives the story a bit of an edge. 

Mason and Lennox are great main Characters. I like how both characters have their fighter side and their softer side. Lennox isn’t this damsel in distress that always needs saving by her Romeo. She can stand on her own two feet and defend herself. I did at times forget how old mason was though as he doesn’t seem to act like a “typical” 19 years old. 

The story is quite fast paced but you do get to learn a bit about the characters. As it is from their POV you don’t really get a lot of insight in to the stories and lives of the other characters in the book, which made the story between Lennox and Mason a lot more intense.

Although the synopsis states that had big dreams and would do anything to make them come true. That didn’t really come across in the book. It was very much about the relationship between Mason and Lennox. There are parts where it is focused on her career but it seems to happen more by chance than her actively pursuing it.

The frustrating thing for me is how dramatic it seemed.. without going in to too much detail as it would give the story away. the last chapter or so did get a bit too dramatic for me and after reading the synopsis for the second book I am not in any rush to read it as I do feel that it would frustrate me further.. 

I do really like Andrew’s style of writing and it really is a beautiful love story. I just don’t think it was for me.

All in all I give this a 3 out of 5

cartoonbookwormcartoonbookwormcartoonbookworm

the-end

Okay my lovelies I would love to hear your thoughts…

Have you read it ? If not would you?

What is your favourite genre to read?

And as always Be Kind, Be Happy and Stay True to You.

Peace and Love

x

heart

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: A Chance at Forever

  1. Pingback: BOOK REVIEW:Love On Ocean Drive by Aubrey Barr | Creative Misfit

Leave a Reply

