SHOW REVIEW: Expanse

expanse.jpg

Netflix originals seem to be popping up left, right and centre and I AM LOVING IT!!

The newest show I have come across is Expanse. A Sci-fi, fantasy series set hundreds of years in the future. (Yes I am a geek).

Again with this series I have to mention the team behind the scenes, the unspoken heroes of films and television. All the ingredients, mixed together in the right way like a perfect sponge cake. The Special effects, the way it is directed, the selection of the actors to play each character all mesh well together to make Expanse one of THE top shows to watch in my humble opinion.

The shows is actually based on a series of novels by James S. A. Corey. I haven’t read the books but I have definitely added this to my ever growing list of books I want to read. 2017 is going to be a busy bookish year.

In the future Mars has been colonised and the Martians (who actually look human..which is confusing) have an uneasy peace treaty  with Earth. Stuck in between, living in poverty, are “The Belters” that live on  the asteroid belt of Ceres.

There are three main characters. Detective Miller(Thomas Jane), a born and bred belter is employed by a security service which acts as type of police force on the belt. Miller is given a case of a missing wealthy “Earther”  called Julie Mao (Florence Faivre)by his captain and told it is an off-the-book assignment, which straight away triggered my suspicious mind. Chrisjen (Shohreh Aghdashloo), a United Nations executive is called in to try and keep the peace between Earth and Mars when ships start getting blown up by an unknown third part that seem to have high quality stealth teach. To keep things simple I call the “The Unknowns” for now.

Then there is James Holden (Steven Strait), an officer on an Ice trawler called The Canterbury. The Canterbury receives a distress call from an abandoned ship so James takes a small team of four out to try and search for the survivor. When the board the ship they realise it was a trap and scramble to get off the vessel, however they are too late, The Canterbury is blown up and they are left to fend for themselves. His team is made up of four totally different personalities, which makes it even more interesting to watch. They all seem to have their own secrets that unfold as the episodes progress.

theexpanse_thumb_04

The team no nothing about each other really, although there is some connection between Naomi and Amos  that is never fully explained.

We have:

Alex (Cas Anvar)- the pilot. A laid back character

Naomi (Dominique Tipper)- The engineer. She is probably the more level headed person in the group and grounds them when they need it.

Amos (Wes Chatham)- The mechanic. Now he is very intersting. A wild card. He is loyal to Naomi and only seems to listen to her.

and

Shed (Paulo Costanzo)- The medic. A young man with a very nervous disposition. Doesn’t handle difficult situations well.

If that wasn’t enough for you .. We get to see Jared Harris playing Anderson Dawes, leader of a rebel group called OPA

I won’t say anymore because I feel that it will give too much away but I cannot recommend this enough.

The only thing I don’t really like is the accent of The Belters.. I can’t say why…I can’t put my finger on it…. it is just a very strange accent. But that is a TINY criticism in an otherwise amazing creation.

You may have guessed.. This show gets a 5 out of 5.

happytvhappytvhappytvhappytvhappytv

Roll on season 2….out in February 2017.

 

cropped-picture1.png

I binged watched this over three evenings.. I couldn’t stop watching it

Let me know what you think

x

heart

 

One thought on “SHOW REVIEW: Expanse

  1. Pingback: November Wrap up.. – Creative Misfit

Leave a Reply

