DISCUSSION TIME:The Banned books list… is there a point to it???

discussion time.png

I have only recently got back in to doing things for me. It sounds crazy but its true. I haven’t really set aside spare time for doing things I enjoy on a regular basis for about 4 yeaars. I don’t have any kids or commitments that have taken me away from doing the things I love  in my spare time so why did I take such a long you ask?

Well I could come up with a million excuses , work or I just couldn’t find the time but the truth is I just gave up on myself. I didn’t really feel like I deserved to do anything that made me happy. If you have read some of my other posts about my mental health you will know that I have struggled with Depression and Anxiety for a long time and during that time I just stopped taking care of myself totally.

I am now back doing what I enjoy, I an sketching again, I spend time with my family, listening to music, watching films and I love to read. I have a very eclectic taste and enjoy learning new things and my mind is always busy and that is why I decided to start this blog.

I had heard about The Banned Books List but I had never really looked too much in to it until now and I can honestly say I am baffled. Why are there so many books on that list? What does it achieve? Why do people fight so hard to get certain books banned?

Banned books are are books or other printed works that are prohibited by law or access to is prohibited. It is a form of censorship. As far as I can tell certain books are banned, or have been requested to be added to the list for religious, political or moral reasons but these books have already been read by thousands, if not millions of people around the world already so what is the point??

Prime examples of great books being banned are

Of Mice and Men

Fifty Shades Trilogy

Animal Farm

The Diary of Anne Frank

Now I appreciate that the content of these books could be disturbing for some people and the books are not banned everywhere, however the fact that people have decided to make these books ILLEGAL in my opinion is a bit ridiculous. You get to choose what books you want to read. There are so many ways nowadays to find out exactly what a book is about before you even get it. When it comes to the issue of age it is a matter of common sense. For example, you would not allow a child to read Fifty Shades of Grey (or I would hope not).

In school during my GCSE’s we had to complete coursework on the book Of Mice and Men and although there are some parts that are uncomfortable to think about it is one of the best books I have ever read. To deprive people of such great writing is a travesty.

Personally I believe reading a variety of different topics broadens the mind and opens your eyes to what the world can be like. It isn’t all fairies and puffy clouds. Life isn’t easy and doesn’t always have a happy ever after. The wide range of different books out there can take you on a whirl wind tour, in to the deep dark thoughts of a psychotic mind in an intense crime novel, to a fictional world of witches, and wizards in a fantasy novel, or to the crazy world of love in a romance novel. The hard hitting true stories about the amazing things people have over come can bring you to tears, fill you with a sense of joy, scare the absolute crap out of you and make you angry as hell, or sick to the stomach but is that a bad thing?

I love that I can go online or to a book shop and read so many different books by amazing authors and I think everyone should have the chance to explore this world too..

 

cropped-picture1.png

So What do you guys think??

Do you agree/disagree with the banned books list and why?

Disclaimer: all opinions are welcome and nobody will be judged for the opinions they have. I believe people should be free to express their opinions and I welcome comments from both sides. 

x

heart

4 thoughts on “DISCUSSION TIME:The Banned books list… is there a point to it???

  1. Okay, to be honest I think that having a banned booklist in this time can be considered as old fashioned. However, back in the day, it might have all made sense. I mean, i just scrolled through this list and I can across the Canterbury Tales by Chaucer! I read parts of it for my Philology (middle English) class and I loved it, but here’s the reason why it came to be on the list, and quite frankly I an imagine why: Banned from US mail under the Federal Anti-Obscenity Act (Comstock Law) of 1873, which banned the sending or receiving of works containing “obscene,” “filthy,” or “inappropriate” material.[23]. Chaucer was an absolute genius, and his work is filled with… let’s just say it’s not child-proof xD In short: I think it’s old fashioned, but I can understand why books might have been banned during certain times 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: November Wrap up.. – Creative Misfit

Leave a Reply

