REVIEW: Black Mirror

I started watching Black Mirror not really knowing what to expect as I had never even heard of it before, but I can tell you now it is not for the feint hearted. It is not your typical Netflix show. Each episode has a different cast, they do not follow on from one another.

this is definitely not something I would normally pick but it once I started watching it I was very intrigued and had to watch the other episodes.

Black Mirror is a British Television anthology series created by Charlie Brooker . It is speculative fiction that examines today’s society with regards to the technology we use and the consequences of new technologies. It is very dark and at times i did find myself cringing at the thought of some of the concepts. I also realised that it is possible, given the advancement in technology so far that we are probably not far off these kinds of things happening, which is pretty scary but also very interesting. Maybe it is me and my paranoid brain but I definitely feel like these situations that arise in each episode could happen in the future!

 

I am not going to go in to detail about every episode as that would take forever and I feel like you need to watch them yourself to really get a feel for the lessons I think the creator is trying to teach us but I will briefly tell you about a few that stood out for me.

The first episode in Season 1 definitely hits you hard. Do you know when you watch a horror film and you don’t want to watch it but you look through your fingers and see it all anyway?? Well I found myself turning away from the screen at one point but still looking out of the corner of my eye. It wasn’t scary, just not something you would ever really want to see happen in real life. The thought of it makes me cringe. This episode is about a princess that is kidnapped and the Prime Minister has to fulfill a certain task by 4pm, live in front of the nation or the princess would be killed.

6jw6vl_d-1

Season 1 episode 3 is one i actually really enjoyed watching. In the near future everyone has access to a memory implant, which records everything a person sees, hears and does. It shows the benefits and the pitfalls of having such technology and how it could potentially affect lives. I actually think that this is something I would want.. I may sound weird but even though it can cause conflict ( as you see in the episode) I think it could also help if used properly.

devastating-consequences-009-1

Season 3 episode 1. Now this episode is interesting. It is about a society where you rise or fall as a direct result of the ratings people give you on how you act or what you upload on to your social media account. Now I know that this is hugely exaggerated, however I do feel that people these definitely rate themselves based on how many likes their photos get or how many friends they have on social media. I also believe that people act a certain way in order to gain likes and accolades off people they don’t no rather than appreciating the people they have that are close to them and actually care about them and know them as people.

21-black-mirror-rankings.w529.h352.jpg

This episode really made me think about social media today and how I definitely see things similar to this on a daily basis. Some people are that desperate for likes and comments that they post ridiculous things just or attention and go to great lengths to be noticed.

summary

Although some of the episodes do make you think. Some of them are also quite cringey and a bit weird for my taste. I understand what the creator was trying to do but I think some of it was a bit far fetched,

Overall Black Mirror gets a 3 out of 5.

woody woodpecker goodwoody woodpecker goodwoody woodpecker goodwoody woodpecker goodwoody woodpecker good

cropped-picture1.png

Yay or nay on Black Mirror?

What are your thoughts on this random creation?

x

heart

One thought on “REVIEW: Black Mirror

  1. I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this blog.
    I’m hoping to see the same high-grade content by you later on as well.
    In truth, your creative writing abilities has inspired
    me to get my own, personal website now 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

