Hobbies… colouring is fun for adults too.

wp-1475187208736.jpg

For those of you who don’t know, the idea behind adult colouring books is that focusing on this activity will relieve stress and anxiety but also allows you to show a bit of self- expression through colouring.

I have three books so far

  • Mille Marotta’s Animal Kingdom – Postcards
  • Zen Colouring Ultimate
  • The Menagerie – Animal Portraits to colour

I change the book I pick depending on my mood. Zen colour takes a lot longer as they are A4 sized sheets full of patterns.

Now I know that the whole point is to colour them in a pattern and leave some white spaces  ( as per the cover images) but I cannot seem to leave any white spaces. Sometimes I feel some hidden OCD kicking in and a need to cover every bit of white space on the paper.  (see below)

 

wp-1475187212380.jpg

In this one I have left some white space but I have the urge to fill it in.. I also dont like putting the same colour in consecutive spaces if i can help it .. haha!!  I am not making it sound fun am I??

 

wp-1475187235939.jpg

One of my favourites at the moment is the Animal Kingdom. I started this one and its taking me a while but it definitely is very calming to do .

wp-1475187215477.jpg

I would recommend that everybody has at least one of these. We do all have stresses in our lives and we don’t always have the money to pay for expensive treatments to help us de-stress and I really do believe that this is a great way to de-stress.

Take time out for yourself, even if it is just for an hour! It is really important to take that bit of time for yourself so you don’t get overwhelmed.

I purchased my books from Sainsbury’s and WHSmiths, however I have sen cheaper ones in local Pound Stores.

Give it a go and let me know what you think…

cropped-picture1.png

Have you used these books before?

Do you think they work?

Which ones do you prefer to do ?

As always I would love to hear people’s thoughts.

x

heart

Leave a Reply

