REVIEW: The Secret…Is it worth the read???

The Secret by Rhonda Byrne is a Self-help book based on the film The Secret (2006) that suggests that the law of attraction is the key to unlocking happiness and that positive thinking can help you create a life of happiness. On the back of this Byrne published The Power and The Magic

This book has been in my collection for about 3 years and I have only just found it in the bottom of a very large pile of old Uni Books that were stored in the darkest corner of my closet. As I am trying to get my life back in to some kind of order and I have also gotten back in to reading I thought.. “Why not kill two birds with one stone??”

I have always been intrigued by the people who can read books like this and all of a sudden have a life changing epiphany. They claim that they now understand themselves better and how the live their lives better.. and to be honest I have always been a bit skeptical about reading self-help books.

I bought this when I was at a low point in my life and it was recommended by a good friend. Even thought he told me it had helped him I was worried.. I was torn, thinking…what if I got nothing from it? what would that say about me? Am i beyond help? On the other hand I was thinking… what if it did help me? Is it because I feel so low that I feel like it helps but its just in my head? Is it a book that has been written just to make money off people and really is just ambiguous, vague statements, copied from motivational speeches that in essence really don’t mean anything specific?

I digress…. So there it was .. 3 years later unopened, crisp pages. I bit the bullet and decided to jump in.

I am not exaggerating when I say i got to page 3 and one sentence popped out at me and something in my mind just clicked.. I read on and in my head i was screaming at myself.. YES!! WHY DID YOU NOT KNOW THIS!!  I didn’t want to put it down!

Now I am not saying that they are sharing some miracle that will cure all the world of its problems and will suddenly cure any depression that you may be suffering from but what I will say is this. THIS BOOK MAKES SENSE!!. It is not what I expected at all. The more I read the more sense it made. I was kicking myself for not reading it earlier!!

If you are struggling at all with depression or low moods, If you have low self esteem or lack confidence, or if you just feel like you need a but of inspiration I 100% recommend this book. I cannot stress enough how much it really does put things in to perspective.

Thank you Rhonda for sharing The Secret.

cropped-picture1.png

If you have read this book I would really like to know your thoughts.

Does it make sense to you?

Did you enjoy it?

x

heart

 

 

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Secret…Is it worth the read???

  1. Pingback: Mystery Blogger Award – Creative Misfit

Leave a Reply

