Stranger and Strangerer…..

stranger2

You will probably be able to tell from my previous reviews that I am no professional film critic.. i don’t feel the need to use long complicated words and sentences in order to explain what i think about a film. I am just an average Yorkshire lass who enjoys sharing my thoughts on things I watch. So if you are looking to read some deep and meaningful upper-class critique of a film then I do apologies in advance.

Another Netflix Original popped up as I was browsing for my series or film to watch. I never really now whether I should watch a Netflix Original as they are very hit and miss. I will never understand how they can go from releasing such a great hit to then releasing utter garbage on a stick.

I had heard a few reviews before I decided to watch it and they had all been great but I have never been a huge Sci-Fi buff and I wasn’t sure that I would enjoy it.

I am going to be honest here.. I haven’t seen anything with Winona Ryder in (that I can remember), therefore I can only share what I thought of her acting in this particular Series and I have to say she played the role so well. One thing I hate seeing when i watch anything is overacting. People assume that acting is easy but there is a fine line between acting a scene well and making the audience believe you and  being so bad you end up making the audience cringe. Winona Ryder played Will’s mother with just the right amount of emotion. I really believed that Will was her son and she was absolutely devastated that she thought she had lost him. It hit me right in the feels guys..

Now lets talk about the children, the Stars of the show. I know children have taken on big roles before but these kids just blew me away.

Just to give you a brief overview. The series is set in the eighties in the fictional town of hawkins, Indiana and is centered around a group of  four friends , Dustin (Gaten Matarazzo), Mike (Finn Wolfhard)  Lucas (Caleb Mclaughlin), and Will (Noah Schnapp).  On the way home from a Dungeon’s and Dragon’s session with his friends Will vanishes. When his friends go looking for him they come across a scared girl who calls herself Eleven (Millie Bobby Brown). As they search for their friend they enlist the help of Eleven who has telekinetic powers. After Joyce Byers(Ryder) notifies the police that her son is missing the sheriff of the town, the troubled Chief Jim Hopper (David Harbour) begins a search to look for Will.

As Joyce is unable to hold things together her son Jonathan (Charlie Heaton) tries to find out what has happened to his brother with the help of Mike’s older sister Nancy (Natalie Dyer).

I won’t say anymore about the plot as I don’t want to ruin the experience for those who have yet to watch it. All I will say is that the chemistry between the characters is 100% believable. Each character holds their own but doesn’t overshadow the rest of the cast. The ending is not what I expected and it leaves you with so many questions but in a good way not an annoying way.

I think it was well written, well directed and the CGI isnt’ half bad either. The duffer brothers deserve two massive thumbs up for this creation in my eyes.

Even if you are not a Sci-Fi buff and you are one of the few people who have not seen this yet I would recommend that you take a few hours out and watch Stranger Things. Netflix has commissions Season 2 and I just cannot wait to see what happens next.

Let me know what you guys think!! Would be nice to see other people’s perspectives.

I give Stranger Things a 5 out of 5 (would give more if i could)

woody woodpecker goodwoody woodpecker goodwoody woodpecker goodwoody woodpecker goodwoody woodpecker good

 

One thought on “Stranger and Strangerer…..

  1. Pingback: Time to review September…. – Creative Misfit

Leave a Reply

